School Council

The Coburg West Primary School Council is a group of eight parents, four Department of Education employees (including the Principal) and two co-opted members, who represent the Coburg West Primary School Community Group and Out of School Hours Care subcommittees.

The Council is responsible for:

  • Overseeing the development of the school’s annual budget and ensuring proper records are kept of the school’s financial operation.
  • Participating in the development and monitoring of the school strategic plan.
  • Developing, reviewing and updating policies that reflect the school’s values and support the school’s broad direction outlined in its strategic plan.
  • Raising funds for school-related purposes.
  • Maintaining school grounds and facilities.
  • Entering into contracts.
  • Reporting annually to the school community and the Department.
  • Creating interest in the school in the wider community.
  • Representing and taking the views of the community into account.
  • Regulating and facilitating the after-hours use of school premises and grounds.

The Council usually meets monthly on a Wednesday evening. Parents are welcome to attend school council meetings. If you would like to attend, please contact the office so that we can arrange for a school representative to welcome you to the meeting.

School Councillors

Parent Representatives
Donald Parton - President
Tom Morris - Treasurer / Finance Convener
Michelle Ziino - Secretary

Sonia Hegarty

Jon Hurford

Martin Barnes

Zoe McQuillan

Department of Education Representatives
Mark Colagrande - Executive Officer
Dan Copping
Patrizia Amerena - Minute Taker
Matthew Niciak

Co-opted Members
Georgia Michaleas - Out Of School Hours Care
Sharnee Chislett - Coburg West Primary School Community Group

Subcommittee Convenors
Tom Morris - Finance
Sharnee Chislett - Coburg West PS Community Group
Georgia Michaleas - Out of School Hours Care
Sonia Hegarty - Building, Grounds and Sustainability

Martin Barnes- Canteen

Zoe McQuillan - Policy & Grants


If you would like to contact our school council President you can email Donald Parton 


Meeting dates


Jan No meeting
Feb 22/02/2024
Mar 20/03/2024
May 15/05/2024
Jun 19/06/2024
Jul 24/07/2024
Aug 21/08/2024
Sep no meeting
Oct 23/10/2024
Nov 20/11/2024
Dec 11/12/2024